BOR FLAAC Meeting

Monday, April 12, 2021 9:00a-11:00a

President: Eric Kartchner
President Elect: Trino Prados
Secretary: Robert Kilpatrick

1. Attendance

Institution	Current Representative	Present at meeting
Augusta U	Chrisopher Botero	yes
Clayton SU	Joe Johnson	yes
Columbus SU	Joelle Bonamy	yes
Dalton SC	Nancy Mason	yes
East Georgia SC	Jeniba Dart	yes
Georgia C & SU	David de Posada	yes
Georgia C & SU (guest)	Libby Murphy	yes
Georgia Gwinnett C	Myung (Sylvia) Choi	yes
Georgia Institute of Tech.	Jan Uelzmann	yes

Georgia Southern U Eric Kartchner, Chair yes Gta Gihoyrn yes

Middle Georgia SU (guest)	Sabrina Wengier	yes
U of North Georgia	D. Brian Mann	yes
U of West Georgia	Robert Kilpatrick, Secretary	yes
Valdosta SU	Ofelia Nikolova, secretary elect	yes
USG (guest)	Patrick Harris	yes
GaDOE (Guest)		

- 2. Approval of minutes from April 2020 meeting Minutes approved
- 3. **Presentation from Patrick Wallace**, Program Specialist for World Languages & Global Work Initiatives in the GaDoE the committee congratulated Patrick for his excellent work as a communicator and advocate for the study of languages and cultures in Georgia.

- 4. **Presentations from USG institution** each institutional rep who was present gave a brief overview of their programs, including the following items.
 - a. FLAAC rep & institution
 - b. Departments represented
 - c. Department chair
 - d. Department name
 - e. Degrees offered
 - f. Minors offered
 - g. Language sequences offered in which there is no minor/major
 - h. Course delivery methods and frequency of OL offerings
 - i. Study abroad programs offered
- 5. **Placement exam** reps discussed approaches to placement exam and retroactive credit processes at various USG institutions.
- 6. **USG Core redesign update** the FLAAC liaison to the USG Core redesign committee, David de Posada, reported that there are no updates on the redesign process.
- 7. April 2022 meeting April 8, 2022: 9:00 am
- 8. **New officers elected** Ofelia Nikolova will serve as secretary for the 2021 meeting; Robert Kilpatrick will be President Elect; Trino Prado will serve as President.
- 9. Meeting adjourned (11:00 a.m.)