contacts between high schools and universities. She commended such linkages as avenues for defining

policy, networking between institutions and discovering more about other physics programs in the State. However, in light of the expectations set by the BOR for the committees and the vast diversity between individual personalities and institutions, he pondered the common purpose, or mission of the AAC-PA as a committee. institution. However, members were encouraged include the lecture and laboratory syllabi, where applicable, but present only information related to the syllabi. It was also agreed that there would be only one hyperlink to a departments' web page for the course syllabi information.

In an effort to address a problem faced by our colleagues, especially in the two-year colleges, the Secretary/Chair-elect, Prof. Martin Okafor, drew attention to the need of laboratory technicians to assist with the functions in the physics and astronomy laboratories. He suggested the possibility of a recommendation from the AAC-PA with guidelines for USG member physics departments. Prof. J. B. Sharma noted that there were AAPT guidelines addressing this matter, similar to the ACS standards for Chemistry. Following a lively discussion of this issue, it was decided that Prof. Sharma should review the AAPT guidelines and draft an appropriate recommendation. This draft should be circulated via email for comments and suggestions. The final version should then be forwarded to Prof. Okafor who then forwards the recommendation to the Central Office (BOR).

Discussion of syllabi for common-numbered courses with introductory remarks by Prof. Kailash Chandra: Prof. Chandra recommended that this discussion be deferred until the syllabi of these common-numbered courses have been posted by member institutions. This recommendation was accepted.

Discussion of the possibility of standardized pre- and/or post-tests for common-numbered courses with introductory remarks by Prof. Ntungwa Maasha.

In the absence of Prof. Maasha, it was suggested that discussions or decisions on this matter be should be deferred until commonalty issues are determined. However, it was decided that AAC-PA member departments should submit their institutional policies regarding advanced placement (AP) credits for physics courses to Prof. Baker for posting at the AAC-Paweb site. The intent of organizing the data at a central location is to present all the available data and, hopefully, achieve some statewide uniformity of these policies.

At this point, the members took turns to introduce themselves.

## El tion of n xty ar's Ex utiv Committ

Below are the results of the election of next years' Executive Committee.

- Prof. Richard Prior, North Georgia College S.U., was selected by acclamation by the entire Committee as the Chair-elect for 1999/2000.
- Prof. James Weeks, ABAC, was elected to represent the two-year colleges.
- Prof. Morris Whiten, Armstrong Atlantic S.U., will represent the four-year colleges/universities.
- Prof. Dennis Marks, Valdosta State U., will represent the regional and research universities.
- Prof. F. Todd Baker, immediate past chair, and Prof. Martin Okafor, Chair, will also serve on this 1998/99 Executive Committee.

On adjournment, following a motion of appreciation by acclamation for great service as the 1997/98 AAC-PA

The meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Martin O. Okafor

## ATTENDEES:

F. Todd Baker, University of Georgia Brooke M. Pridmore, Clayton College & State University Ron Ezell, Augusta State University Morris Whiten, Armstrong Atlantic State University Bill Lamb, Georgia College & State University Gary Watts, Middle Georgia College Neil Koone, Floyd College James Weeks, Abraham Baldwin College Sam Scales, Southern Polytechnic State University James Wang, Gordon College Michael J. Pangia, Georgia Southwestern State University Jagdish Agrawal, Atlanta Metropolitan College Dennis W. Marks, Valdosta State University Martin O. Okafor, DeKalb College Tsun-Hsiung (Charles) Kao, Columbus State University Dick Prior, North Georgia College & State University J. B. Sharma, Gainesville College Surendra N. Pandey, Albany State University J. Hasbun, State University of West Georgia Henry Valk, Georgia Tech Jeffrey W. Laub, Macon State College