Regents' Academic Advisory Committee on Physics & Astronomy

Minutes of meeting on Friday April 11, 2003 at Middle Georgia College, Cochran

The meeting was convened at approximately 5:00 PM with the following members present: Roy Wood (Armstrong Atlantic State), Tatiana Krivosheev (Clayton College & State University), Ntungwa Maasha (Coastal Georgia Community College), Soumitra Chattopadhyay (Floyd College), Dorothy Zinsmeister (USG BOR), Michael Pangia (Georgia College & State University), Mariam Dittman (Georgia Perimeter College), Arthur Woodrum (Georgia Southern University), Stefan Dieters (Georgia Southwestern State University), William Nelson (Georgia State University), Chad Davies (Gordon College), Rolf Schimmrigk (Kennesaw State University), D. Lawing (Macon State College), M. Harry Parker (Medical College of Georgia), Imad El-Jeiad (Middle Georgia College), Richard Prior (North Georgia College & State University), Kailash Chandra (Savannah State University), Charles Johnson (South Georgia College), Russell Patrick (Southern Polytechnic State University), Javier Hasbun (State University of West Georgia), and F. Todd Baker (University of Georgia).

(Minutes of the 2002 meeting were previously approved electronically.)

Prior to the AACPA meeting, the group met jointly (3 to ca. 4:45 pm) with the Chemistry

- 5) The chair reaffirmed the Committee's intention from 2002 that the introductory physics course descriptions should be officially changed as approved and submitted a year ago.
- 6) As a follow-up to the group presentation of the eCore physics course, Todd Baker (UGA) commented on the absence of information to the group on the actual implementation and offering of the courses.